Year 2012

The IITRHF excellence annual awards recognize students for outstanding academic, co-curricular and extra-curricular achievements. All students including those on loans and scholarships can apply. The award amount is declared annually based on the donor pool.

General awards are funded by the pool of IITRHF Club donors and Seed donors
Personalized awards are funded by IITRHF Seed donors

2011-12 Academic Year Awards (51 awards- one per branch per year): 
A check for Rs 5,000 and a certificate were presented to 51 awardees on the Science Day at the IIT Roorkee Campus on February 28, 2013. Current Director, Prof. Pradipta Banerji, Deputy Director, Dr. S.P. Gupta and Dean Alumni Affairs, Dr. Satish Chandra have been highly supportive to make it possible. Here are some photographs of the ceremony:


In 2012 2 U.S based alumni were honored with Distinguished Alumni Awards


DA Award Recipient 2012

Dr. Amit Singhal was awarded with the Distinguished Alumnus Award on the occasion of IIT Roorkee Thirteenth Annual Convocation on the 25th of November 2012.


DA Award Recipient 2012

Dr. Harpreet Singh was awarded with the Distinguished Alumnus Award on the occasion of IIT Roorkee Thirteenth Annual Convocation on the 25th of November 2012.

Alumni Guest Lectures

Alumni Guest lecture series provides a forum for alumni visiting India to share their expertise with students on campus. IIT Roorkee Heritage Foundation will facilitate the logistics.

Dr. Hari Dutt Sharma
BE Civil 1964

21 Nov 2012

Sustainability and Waste Management

Mohinder Nayyar
BE Mech 1966

24 Nov 2012

Alumni Energy Center


Praveen Gupta
BE E&C 1978

Director, IIT Center for Innovation Science

25 Aug 2012

Dept of E&C Engg

Innovation for Entrepreneurs: Raising Barriers to Entry

Entrepreneurial success has been a concern for entrepreneurs as well as investors. Expecting success rate of one in ten poses a significant risk for all stakeholders therefore requiring entrepreneurs to give higher equity for the necessary financial support. Maximizing innovation in ones entrepreneurial endeavor creates a higher value proposition, raises barriers to entry, and produces enjoyable customer experience. In today’s knowledge economy enjoyable user experience defines the success of innovation and entrepreneurship.

In 2012, following recipients were awarded the Research Paper Grant.

   Student  Conference Details

Putul Haldar,
PhD. Research Scholar in Dept. of Earthquake Engineering

15th World Conference on Earthquake Engineering, 15WCEE 2012, Lisbon, Portugal, Sep 24 - Sep 28, 2012


Deepika Chaudhry,
PhD. Research Scholar in Dept. of Physics

International Conference on Nuclear Structure, NS 2012, Argonne National Laboratory, Illinois USA, Aug 13 - Aug 17, 2012


Shailza Singh,
PhD. Research Scholar in Dept. of Architecture & Planning

International Conference on Civil Engineering and Architecture, ICCEA 2012, Hong Kong, Aug 3 - Aug 4, 2012


Sanchit Agarwal,
Research Scholar in Dept. of Water Resources Development and Management

International Conference on Quality, Reliability, Risk, Maintenance and Safety Engineering QR2MSE 2012, Chengdu, China, June 15 - June 18, 2012